New global competition announced for women’s rugby, WXV

Set small textual content measurement

Set the default textual content measurement

Set giant textual content measurement

With three spots up for grabs, the Australian girls’s rugby group must compete towards New Zealand, Canada and the US to be in tier-one of a brand new international tourney.
The Wallaroos must end within the prime three towards Canada, New Zealand and the US to qualify for tier-one of World Rugby’s new three-level rugby world event.
Organisers are hoping a brand new annual three-tier international girls’s event will create a extra aggressive worldwide panorama and develop the Ladies’s Rugby World Cup to 16 groups.
WXV will begin in 2023 and has initially been supported by a STG6.4-million pound ($A11 million) funding from the worldwide governing physique for the primary two years.
It will likely be hosted in a September-October worldwide competitors window, besides in a World Cup 12 months.
“This can be a landmark second for the game. At the moment’s announcement of a brand new, international worldwide 15s calendar will underpin the long run success and speed up the event of the ladies’s sport,” World Rugby chairman Invoice Beaumont mentioned in a press release.
“By establishing a unified worldwide 15s calendar and introducing WXV we’re making a platform for the ladies’s worldwide groups to compete in additional constant, aggressive and sustainable competitions at regional and international degree.”
Entry into the competitors might be by way of regional qualifiers. WXV 1, the highest tier, will include six groups – the main three sides from the European Six Nations and the highest three from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and USA.
There’ll initially be no relegation from this tier, with the finals event performed in a single location.

WXV 2 will comprise the subsequent two groups from the Six Nations, the fourth-placed group from the cross-regional event that includes Oceania and North American groups, and one other aspect every from Oceania, Asia and Africa.
It is going to even be in a single location and the underside group might be relegated.
WXV 3 might be made up of 4 groups and embrace two extra from Europe, one from Asia and the winners of an Africa versus South America playoff. The highest aspect might be promoted to WXV 2.
“That is an bold, long-term dedication to make the worldwide sport extra aggressive, to develop the ladies’s sport and assist the enlargement of Rugby World Cup to 16 groups from 2025 and past,” Beaumont added.
The 2021 Ladies’s Rugby World Cup, to be staged in New Zealand and that includes 12 groups, was postponed by a 12 months as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *