UK adds Kenya on its Covid-19 travel blacklist

Financial system

UK provides Kenya on its Covid-19 journey blacklist
Friday April 02 2021


A passenger sporting a face masks due to the Covid-19 pandemic arrives at Terminal 5 at London Heathrow Airport in west London, on January 18, 2021. PHOTO | BEN STANSALL | AFP


Extra by this Creator

Kenyans travelling to the UK must pre-book and pay £1,750 to spend 10 days in government-sanctioned inns.

Kenyans travelling to the UK can be subjected to obligatory keep at quarantine inns after Kenya was added to the UK’s ‘crimson checklist’.The British Excessive Fee in Nairobi stated in a press release on Friday that the choice was made after a major variety of Kenyans examined optimistic on the second day of arriving within the UK.The restriction takes impact on April 9.The announcement comes days after a British newspaper quoting the British Excessive Fee in Nairobi, hinted at Kenya becoming a member of the ‘crimson checklist’.“The British Excessive Fee has the remorse to tell the Ministry (of Overseas Affairs) that Her Majesty’s authorities has taken the choice so as to add Kenya to its Covid-19 associated quarantine checklist,” reads the assertion.“Almost a 3rd of these testing optimistic have been carrying the B.1.351 variant which originated in South Africa,” it stated.
With Kenya becoming a member of the crimson checklist, it means travellers from the nation to Britain must pre-book and pay £1,750 to spend 10 days in government-sanctioned inns. The associated fee covers the resort keep, transport and testing.The choice is yet one more devastating blow to tourism not solely in Kenya however throughout the continent.With South Africa, Ethiopia, Qatar and UAE already on the crimson checklist, Nairobi has been the final main hub for connecting flights into the UK.Kenya, which had reported 135,042 instances of Covid-19 and a couple of,167 deaths by Thursday, is at present gripped by the third wave of infections, which has stretched its well being services.Here’s a full checklist of nations at present on the UK’s crimson checklist:AngolaArgentinaBangladesh (can be added to the checklist 4am Friday 9 April)BoliviaBotswanaBrazilBurundiCape VerdeChileColombiaDemocratic Republic of the CongoEcuadorEswatiniEthiopiaFrench GuianaGuyanaKenya (can be added to the checklist 4am Friday 9 April)LesothoMalawiMozambiqueNamibiaOmanPakistan (can be added to the checklist 4am Friday 9 April)PanamaParaguayPeruPhilippines (can be added to the checklist 4am Friday 9 April)QatarRwandaSeychellesSomaliaSouth AfricaSurinameTanzaniaUnited Arab Emirates (UAE)UruguayVenezuelaZambiaZimbabwe

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *